‘Revolution of Our Times’ and ‘The Falls’ win Golden Horse Film Awards

“The Falls,” Taiwan’s Oscar nominee and a timely drama about the trauma of home quarantine, became the unsurprising winner of the Golden Horse Film Awards in Taipei on Saturday.

And, in a bold move that has the potential to enrage mainland Chinese authorities, the award for Best Documentary Feature went to “Revolution of Our Times.” The film chronicles the brutality of political repression on the streets of Hong Kong in 2019 and 2020.

“The Falls,” which debuted at the Venice Film Festival in September, tells the story of a mother and daughter locked in an apartment during quarantine. It is directed by Chung Mong-hong, who previously directed “Parking” and “A Sun.”

At the awards ceremony, “The Falls” won four awards, including Best Narrative Feature, Best Original Screenplay, Best Actress, and Best Original Score.

Now in its 58th year, the Golden Horse Film Awards have for many years been considered the most prestigious Chinese language film award, covering all dialects and backgrounds. For the past three editions, however, it has been boycotted by mainland Chinese films and filmmakers by order of film industry authorities, and by many Hong Kongers.

The boycott followed a speech in favor of Taiwan independence by a documentary award winner in 2018. It enraged mainland Chinese authorities so much that attendees of the mainland ceremony received a text message ordering them not to attend. to post-awards parties and get home with maximum haste. . Taiwan has been autonomous since 1949, is democratically ruled and is called the Republic of China. Mainland China, properly called the People’s Republic of China, sees Taiwan as a rebel province with which it will eventually unite, by force if necessary.

“Revolution of Our Times” takes its title from a popular slogan promoting Hong Kong’s independence from China. The film, which premiered surprise and belatedly at the Cannes Film Festival in July, traces the course of the protests and the police response as they both turn violent. It ends with Beijing imposing a national security law on Hong Kong.

It was directed by Kiwi Chow, who was previously one of the co-directors of “Ten Years”. Chow boldly decided to stay in Hong Kong since “Revolution” was released, but, in order to give himself legal leeway in case of arrest, sold all rights and materials related to the film.

Another Hong Kong film “Drifting” had topped the nominations ahead of the event. But he walked away with only one prize.

Winners of the Golden Horse Film Awards 2021

Best Narrative Feature

“The Falls” dir. Chung Mong-hong.

Best Documentary Feature

“The revolution of our time” dir. Kiwi Chow, Hong Konger.

Best Live Action Short

“Good day” dir. Zhang Zhi-teng.

Best Documentary Short

“In their teens” dir. Lin Yuen.

Best Animated Short

“The Magic Line” Wu De-chuen.

Best Director

Clara Law for “Drifting Petals”.

Best Lead Actor

Chang Chen in “The Soul”.

Best Leading Actress

Alyssa Chia in “The Falls”.

Best Supporting Actor

Lee Kuan-ting in “Trick or Treat”.

Best Supporting Actress

Wang Yu-xuan in “Goddamned Asura”.

Best New Director

Fiona Roan Feng-i for “American Girl”.

Best New Performer

Caitlin Fang in “American Girl”.

Best Original Screenplay

Chung Mong-hong and Chang Yaosheng for “The Falls”.

Best Adapted Screenplay

Jun Li for “Drifting”.

Best Cinematography

Giorgos Valsamis for “American Girl”.

Best Visual Effects

ArChin Yen for “Till We Meet Again”.

Best Art Direction

Huang Mei-Chin, Liang Shuo-lin and Liao Hui-li for “The Soul”.

Best Makeup and Costume Design

Singing Lin, Hsiao Pai-chen and Liu Hsien-chia for “Till We Meet Again”.

Best Action Cinematography

Chan Man-fai, Chu Ke-feng, Feng Ren-zhi for “Nezha”.

Best Original Score

Lu Luming for “The Falls”.

Best Original Song

“I Missed You” (composed, written, performed by Eve Ai)

Best Film Editing

Shieh Meng-ju for “The Soul”.

Best Sound Effects

RT Kao and Chu Shih-yi for “Till We Meet Again”.

Best Taiwanese Filmmaker of the Year

Frank Chen.

Audience Award

“American girl”.


“American girl”.

Life Achievement Award (2)

Lin Tsan-ting.

Tsai Yang-ming.